Non-Western

The Jungle, 1943

Wifredo Lam

The Museum of Modern Art, New York

Lam painted The Jungle, his masterpiece, two years after returning to his native Cuba from Europe, where he had been a member of the Surrealist movement, along with Pablo Picasso. The work, “Intended to communiate a psychic state.” Lam said, depicts a group of figures with crescentshapped faces that recall African of Pacific Islander masks, against a background of vertical, striated poles suggesting sugarcane fields.

I chose this piece because it’s very interesting to see his first piece after living in Europe and personally knowing Pablo Picasso. It ended up being his masterpiece!

 

Sources: www.wikipedia.org

www.moma.org

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Non-Western

  1. Nice choice of work! I like that it is abstract. When I see it I see different people with really big feet! I think it is creative. I would have maybe liked to see more of why you liked it or how you connected to it. You presented the needed amount of information and your sources. Did you connect to this work? Good job! (:

Leave a comment